Discouraged CCD teacher needs advice!

I am new to posting on this site. My husband and I are frequent lurkers. We teach first year confirmation and I am AMAZED at how resistant many of the kids are to having to pay attention and take tests. There are a few kids in every class who constantly disrupt class and talk loudly about wild things off topic. It is difficult to keep the lesson flowing for those kids who do want to learn. These kids openly say they don’t want to be there but their parents make them come. They say their parents will let them stop coming to church if they get confirmed. These kids are required to come to Mass and many of them say they have never been to reconciliation since their first confession, yet they take Eucharist every week.
Does anyone else feel difficulty staying motivated in situations like this?

Hi. I’m in my second year of comfirmation and will be confirmed this month. I can understand your problem because most kids used to act like that in my class as well. There were three or four kids that would get everyone else distracted. As time went by everyone started acting better. I’m sure you want to help all the kids, but some of them just refuse to stay on course. Anyway, those disruptive kids are gone and things have gone much more smoothly. You should talk to there parents and see if they can do anything. It’s a shame that these kids are just trying to get confirmation out of the way and that they are bringing everyone else down with them. This is one of the reasons I have tryed to be the best student I can be. Our teachers have been great and they don’t deserve the disrespect they have gotten.

You must be at my parish - it sounds much like my class!:o