Discouragement in confession

HI, I am new to writing on this forum, so thanks for reading. I want to know how to make confession a better experience.

I have heard that confession should help us grow in our spirituality, but it often just seems like a place for me to repeat the same sins. I know I am supposed to CHANGE, but change is hard. I have failed so oten in amendment that I am always so ashamed to go back to confession. …

… But I went yesterday anyway after several months of not going and just attending mass without receiving Jesus in communion <----that’s not easy, missing Jesus, but I was so afraid to go to confession, so discouraged about my lack of change. At one point I had to force myself to attend mass, even though I felt dread to go. All that I seemed to think of at mass is how sinful I am.

I have to say that when I went to confession, it was no great feeling either. But I will do what I can to change, which is the most important thing. I praised God with my empty heart. I raised my hands up to Him eventhough my fourteen yr old daughter gave me a suspicious look ( that’s just her way ).

I hope to post again, sometime later. I need to communicate with people who love God.

Hi fyrefly, welcome to CAF :slight_smile:

I’m sorry you’re having a rough time. Yes, confession is very important, and a place where we can receive some of the greatest graces. Do we always feel those graces? No. Thankfully, we know God’s truth isn’t dependent upon our feelings – we believe even when we might not be feeling really excited and happy.

For me, sometimes confession is an amazing experience – I literally feel a flow of grace, like a wave of peace, come over me as I am absolved of my sins. Sometimes I don’t feel that wave – but I know it is still there, because Jesus said so.