Disgruntled Ex Catholics

Just found this website.

That’s a well-known sola scriptura, Catholic-bashing site. I don’t know as it has anything to do with “disgruntled ex-Catholics” particularly.

Please explain :thinking:

I just thought I would check out the adversary while I am still learning about the Faith

“Sola scriptura” is the term for Protestants who believe that scripture alone, interpreted by them of course, is the basis for all faith. In other words, if it’s not in the Bible (their version of it, of course) then it’s not from God. The phrase “From a Biblical perspective” is the tip-off.

Catholics do not believe this.

When I read that they say Catholics do not call themselves Christians I thought the site is a joke by some unhappy individuals

We definitely call ourselves Christians. We rather consider ourselves THE Christian Church, in fact, insofar as we hold that we have the fullness of truth and and adhere to the deposit of faith left to us by Christ and his apostles.

Catholics in USA sometimes make a point of emphasizing “Catholic” rather than “Christian” because they do not want to be thought to be a Protestant Christian. “Christian” in USA is often used to refer to Protestant evangelicals. Those groups also sometimes will claim Catholics are not true Christians. I had a street evangelizer tell me I wasn’t a Christian once, which is baloney and I walked away, but his position was that Catholics (in his opinion) haven’t personally accepted Jesus Christ so we’re not really Christians to him.
That was also baloney as plenty of us Catholics have personally accepted Jesus Christ, it’s not like we have to call up a priest to be the go-between in order to pray to Jesus or accept Him as our savior or build a personal relationship with him.

If they were to ever go to Catholic mass, I’m sure their first reaction would be, “wow…they talk about Jesus…a lot.”