Dispensation from Private Vow

Hi!

So here's my situation: I am a college student (22 years old).

I asked the pastor of the parish my parents live in (and where I lived a large chunk of my childhood) to dispense a private vow over my Christmas break. However, I am concerned that the pastor may not have had the authority to dispense the vow, since that parish is no longer my primary residence.

I think I had domicile in this parish, because I lived there for over 5 years. And I don't think I've ever had the intention to never return to the parish. However, I have spent more than 3 months living in a different parish where my college in located. So I think I may have quasi-domicile there--although my residence there has been off and on (since I have gone to my parent's house over school breaks), so I am not sure about that.

If I have quasi-domicile at my school parish, can I still have domicile at my parent's parish? Or does the quasi-domicile replace the previous domicile? Do I need to ask the pastor of my parish up at school to be dispensed of the vow?

If it's a private vow, surely the dispensation is a matter of whether it's appropriate for you and whether a priest of the Church thinks it's the right thing? Would or should a geographical boundary and technicalities over which parish you reside in have any bearing if the dispensation is related to the authority of a priest by virtue of his ordination rather than his location?

[quote="DexUK, post:2, topic:313136"]
If it's a private vow, surely the dispensation is a matter of whether it's appropriate for you and whether a priest of the Church thinks it's the right thing? Would or should a geographical boundary and technicalities over which parish you reside in have any bearing if the dispensation is related to the authority of a priest by virtue of his ordination rather than his location?

[/quote]

Yes it would. Only those with the proper authority over a private vow can dispense it.