Dispensationalism

Has anyone ever talked to a dispensationalist? How do you combat their views?

There were 4 references in Scripture to Dispensationalism but 22 in regards to Christ's covenant of His Blood.

I am actually refering to a King James only Baptist Dispensationalists. Has anyone spoken with one of these?

I am not very good with terms but because of the Christian book store I work at I may have talked to them but need you to explain a bit more what they say.

[quote="Maryann_C, post:4, topic:282154"]
I am not very good with terms but because of the Christian book store I work at I may have talked to them but need you to explain a bit more what they say.

[/quote]

Dispensationalists believe that the Bible can be basically broken down into anywhere from three to seven periods of history, usually defined by and directly linked to biblical covenants, as a means to define the period of revelation. They tend to have a foundational belief in "progressive revelation". They seem to be very heavy on eschatology, and from them comes most of the familiar phrases they are identified with (rapture, end times, 1000 year reign, Israel, the great tribulation, the antichrist, mark of the beast, etc).

Most of this is based on the writings of John Darby, and sprang about in the mid to late 19th century. Dispensationalism is embraced mostly by fundamentalist, evangelical, "bible-only", non-denoms. Most of the mainline Protestant denominations reject it (or at least claim to), although it does seem to have permeated Protestant denominations to a greater or lesser degree..

My biggest personal problem with it (aside from the association with many of the individual messengers, who come across to me as either abrasive or just a touch "off") is that it seems as if they present the Bible as a giant code, and by decyphering it correctly you can get into heaven.

[quote="peeteyg, post:3, topic:282154"]