"disposable" income?

Can anyone explain what the #$%@^ “disposable income” is really supposed to be??? I am an engineer, so I have above average math skills, but I have to say that accounting math seems to be the most illogical set of garbage rules I’ve ever heard of, and I have a real hard time understanding how they figure most things out.
I am trying to get a better grasp of our budget and where we are headed in our financial future, and I was wondering how our current expenses fit in with an “ideal” model. The first thing I find is that every expert has his own idea of what ideal is, but overall they seem fairly similar in their total percentages. So one guy says household costs should be no more than 30% of your total income, and another says 25%. I can live with that difference. But then one guy says household costs includes mortgage, insurance, utilities, maintenance, and the next guy says this category includes everything from food, clothing and daycare to home repairs, entertainment, personal care and vacations.
So can anyone please explain to the accounting challenged just what disposable income is supposed to cover? (Frankly, I don’t see how food can be considered “disposable”- you NEED it to live.)
BTW- this all started because I read a one paragraph blip in our local paper saying some study concluded that Americans are spending on average some higher percent (I think I recall 36%) of their “disposable income” on food, gas, etc. due to rising costs, and a rather blanket statement that if the cost of Housing, Food, and Auto combined exceed 70 percent of your “spendable income”, then it will be almost impossible to have a balanced budget. So I guess now we have to figure out what spendable income is too???

From what I have always understood but from what you have quoted I may be wrong, but I’m use to that:D . Disposable income is what you have left over from paying for the basics you need.