Divine Inspiration and revisions of Old Testament books

This may be a premature question, in view of the fact that I’ve only started my first semester, but it is bugging me nonetheless. I’m studying Theology at a Jesuit-run seminary, and a few days ago we had a class on Introduction to Sacred Scripture. That class’s topic was the Twelve Prophets in the Old Testament.

In the lecture, our docent repeatedly stressed that many Prophets’ books, i.e. Micha, Zepheniah, Nahum, Habbakuk and others, were continuously revised and edited by committees even long after they were written, to add lines or re-interpret Jewish history. Some were even said to have included “prophecy” of events that already happened.

That immediately prompted the following question in my mind: How, then, can we consider the Old Testament, as we know it today, inspired, and parts of it to be prophecy?

Any thoughts? :shrug:

Sounds like your “docent” is a devotee of the historical-critical method of biblical interpretation. Learn what you can from the class, but take comments like this with a grain of salt–or perhaps the whole shaker. Better to read the Church Fathers’ interpretations of the Prophets than rely on modernist revisionism, the main goal of which is to destroy our faith in biblical prophecy. I’m not saying that is your instructor’s personal goal, but at the least he is being used by those who do have that goal. The historical-critical method ought to be confined to theological scholarship and kept out of the classroom because it is merely a theory, an unproved one at that. And while it may have some use for understanding some passages, to apply it to all is dangerous at the least and deceptive at the worst, IMHO.