Divine Mercy Sunday

I feel so inept. I made a statement to my Faith Formation Class that after all is said and done, the Sunday after Easter, Divine Mercy Sunday, may be the most sacred day in our Church, our belief. The mercy my Lord wants to give to us,….but wow,…….I felt that I was a blasphemous teacher.

Help please…… :o

Inept is not blasphemous. You made an error in good faith. At the next class, you can bring it up again as an example of how enthusiasm for something can make people get carried away and give it too much emphasis. It could be an interesting class discussion.

I wouldn’t sweat it. especially if it wasn’t intentional. Blasphemy is defamation of the name or character of God, which you didn’t do.

I just wouldn’t use the adjective “sacred.” Maybe blessed or joyous or personal. Divine Mercy brings the triumph and joy of Easter to the individual. Easter is the ultimate celebration of the Church, but DMS brings it home to me (and you, and each individual).

It might also be true to say that it’s the most important (or even sacred) to you. As long as you don’t try to speak in generalities (i.e. for the Church), I think you’d be fine. As baltobetsy says, it could be a good class discussion.

Its ok, you only missed by 7 days :slight_smile:

Correct it in the next class (and any additional persons privately who are not there)

it will be a great opportunity to show that we can all error and the highlight the importance of the Paschal Mystery…as well as to talk about the difference between private revelation to which we can only give human belief …and Divine Revelation that we give Divine Faith to…and how the Mercy of God in the Paschal Mystery and highlighted by the Church on that Feast of Divine Mercy in the Easter Octive (outside the PR) is part of Divine Rev. but that given to St. Faustina is PR (which is good of course! but which per se is very different …see the CCC 67…)

And: