Divine Office Invitatory Psalm, which one?

I'm just getting started praying the Divine Office and I have a question about choosing which Invitatory Psalm to choose. For instance, today, Jan 2, 2010, Universalis used Psalm 24. I didn't see in the St. Joseph Guide to the Liturgy of the Hours where it specified to use this psalm.

If it's my choice which psalm to use are there any guidelines to follow?

Thanks,
-Bob

I believe that it’s always optional. However, if e.g. you pick Psalm 24, or Psalm 67, or Psalm 100 - sometimes that’s the Psalm used in the ordinary, and you are directed to use Psalm 95 at that point instead.

In general, I think that Psalm 95 can always be used for the invititory.

BTW - this is the worst possible time of the year to try to actually learn the Divine Office. Once we get into ordinary time, it will be easier.

Also, Universalis does not use a translation approved for use in the US.

Thanks for the quick reply. Knowing that this is a difficult time to learn the Divine Office will help to keep me from getting discouraged.

-Bob

There are four choices for the Invitatory Psalm: 95, 100, 67, and 24. You can use whichever one you prefer. In my case I’m a Benedictine Oblate and in the Rule St. Benedict says to use Psalm 67, so that’s the one I use. It makes me feel more connected to my Benedictine brothers and sisters.

:twocents:

Nothing cast in stone, but I like to use Psalm 24 during Advent and Christmas, Psalm 100 during Easter, and Psalm 95 during Ordinary Time and Lent. I rarely opt for Psalm 67 unless I am looking for a change.

Psalm 95 actually seems the most “Lenten” to me, but I use it during Ordinary Time as well since it is the default.

:twocents:
tee

I agree it’s such a tough time to learn. I’ve only been doing it since September or so, and the Christmas season has been tough.