Divorce and remarriage?

I am a current divorcee married to a lapsed Catholic. I am just learning what the Catholic church says about marriage being a lifelong covenant and not allowing divorce. My first husband was a serial adulterer, an addict, and abusive. He basically left me with 2 babies. We divorced and then later tried to reconcile and he left me again. Less than 1 year after leaving me he remarried.
I found my current husband after being alone for 2 years. This is my second marriage and his first (although he had a child out of wedlock).
So now we are a blended family. We married in a Christian ceremony.
I would like to become Catholic. Insights please?

Before you can receive the sacraments, you will have to file paperwork and have your first marriage annuled. Catholic Annulments are based on the couple’s state of mind at the time of the wedding and not the conduct of either party during the marriage. You really need to make an appointment with a wise and holy priest to discuss your situation. He can get you started with the paperwork (there is a lot of it!) and get you signed up for the next RCIA class, probably to meet in the Fall. There will be bumps and roadblocks ahead, but don’t give up; the Catholic Church is the one, true Church started by Jesus himself and well worth the wait!