Do any Protestants see neighbours reading Church bulletins during the service?

As a Catholic, one thing that really bothers me is seeing people reading the Church bulletin during Mass and not participating in the Mass. I’m not sure if Protestant Churches have bulletins every week like Catholic Churches do. Have any of you noticed your neighbours reading a bulletin during the service, rather than listening to the minister or participating in the service?

At the Presbyterian church that I am a musician at, the bulletin is part of the worship program which is handed out at the main entrance to the sanctuary. The worship leaders, hymn selections, prayer responses, scripture readings, and sermon topic and notes are listed in the front part of the program. The announcements, calendar, and activities, are listed in the pages after the worship notes. And yes, some congregants do read the bulletin portion during the worship service. But for the most part, they are in the moment and pay close attention to every aspect of the service. I am impressed with their attentiveness and active participation.

I’ve seen this problem before. The best way is to hand out the bulletin at the end of the mass, and that is how my parish does.

The problem is they have them in racks in the vestibule in most parishes because they don’t have people to hand them out after Mass.(That may go along with the thread about lack of fellowship in the Catholic Church–lack of people who want to volunteer to do things). So people pick one up before they enter the church. :frowning: I was asking if Protestants had this problem because I’ve been to Methodist and Lutheran services and did not see anybody reading the bulletin during the services.

yes, various protestants do read the bulletin during the service because it often contains the order of worship, hymns etc, or notes on the bible passage and sermon for study.