Do husbands sometimes envy their stay-at-home wives?

Hello,

I’m trying to put my finger on a new dynamic within our marriage… First a quick history: I graduated nursing school in June, and took my dream job in Labor & Delivery working (3) 12 hour night-shifts per week. Shortly before I started this job in August, we unexpectedly discovered that we are expecting our third child. Shortly after I started the job, I started having unstable blood pressures, elevated blood sugars, and panic attacks that I couldn’t really medicate because of the pregnancy.

We made a decision together for me to resign for now and go back next year after the baby is born. My husband assured me many many times that this was what he thought was for the best. When I returned home from resigning (the first day of October), I sat down to share what transpired in my meeting with my manager. He was watching Fox News and seemed distracted. I pointed out that maybe this was not a good time for us to talk because he was busy with the news, and he blew up, threw the remote down and left the house for 5 or 6 hours. He never would really say why he blew up other than he was upset that I wasn’t talking.