Do I need permission to join the Catholic Church?

I both love and respect my parents, they have been wise and loving care-givers to me. My whole family was Baptist untill I looked at the Catholic church, now I wish to join. (but here is my problem) My father says that Catholics are wrong about: [insert EVERY theological debate known to man]. Every time I say anything about going to the local Catholic church, my Dad just gives me a dirty look and says "get real". Now Im a college student so its not like I'm a kid any more but I wish to respect my parents while Im still under their roof.

:confused:How do I become a Catholic and still honor my parents?:confused:

Hi and welcome to the Catholic Faith. It’s good to know that God through the Holy Spirit called you back to his Church.May the holy spirit continue to guide you in your journey of faith. As for the advise you were seeking, I can only suggest to keep God’s commandments to Honor your Father and Mother. In my opinion, you should be catholic ,try to learn more of the faith and not mention it to your parents if these things will bother and affect them. You can go to mass and still accompany them in their church services if they ask you to after all we are all Christians and still worship the same God.

God bless!!

Not the best at analogies, but if your dad was telling you to commit a crime, not committing the crime would not dishonor him. Following God’s will is honoring your parents. With love and patience, your parents will come around in time.

From personal experience, my parent still have a problem with my bro and I converting, and we were both college aged at the time, but they respect the fact that we looked into what we believed and follow it despite what others think, even them. In short, we stand up for what we believe, and even though my parents strongly disagree to this day, they understand.

I agree that becoming a Catholic is NOT dishounoring your parents.