Do I need to attend RCIA?

Hi there,

I am an adult who is going to be confirmed at the Easter Saturday Vigil, and I have thus far been attending weekly RCIA sessions.

I was wondering if it was a requirement for me to attend these sessions? I did initially enjoy them, but now find them rather formulaic and uninspiring. I also feel I do not integrate particularly well with the rest of the group. I feel I could spend the hour that I spend at RCIA reading scripture and my copy of the Catechism of the Catholic Church and learn what is necessary.

What do others think??

Thanks,
FG.

I am just beginning my journey as well. One thing I would say is this:

Not everything about Faith is inspiring, just as the way anyone lives their lives on a day to day basis, but the inspiration is in knowing you have a soul with a future. That is inspiring everyday. From my own perspective, that daily reflection in prayer from things like the Rosary is a reminder of the things we derive our inspiration from. One area that Catholicism excels to great heights.

Being part of a group study always has draw backs, and becomes “academic” at certain points…maybe those are the moments you should concentrate more…since the emotions are subdued? You also have an opportunity in the duller times to share an experience that may help someone else in their journey.

Either way, let it run its course…I assume it is set up the way it is for a reason.

YMMV. God Bless.

You should express your concerns to the leader of your RCIA process and/or the director of faith formation in your parish. Each person going to receive a sacrament needs to be properly instructed for it (catechized) but there can be more than one way to achieve this.

Part of being Catholic is being part of the community, and the regular RCIA meetings can help to promote this. How each of us interacts with the community varies (some more , some less).