Do more women wear veils on Good Friday (?)

Hi all!

I’m a total newbie so forgive me if this is a silly question or in the wrong forum.

I was reading about Good Friday traditions and have read in several places that it is customary for women to wear veils to church on Good Friday. Have any of you noticed more women wearing a head covering on Good Friday than you normally see? I’m sure it depends on the local custom and region, but is this something you’ve heard of/experienced before? I’m new to my region and to the church, so I have no idea what to expect. :shrug:

Thanks!

Not in our little parish. No veils at all except this one lady. But she doesn’t show up all the time.

In my church hats, veils and even some headbands with decoration are worn. It is not a majority, but a sprinkling. What ever suits your fancy! This also goes for Sunday mass. I think that it depends on the diocese and the individual parish. I see such head coverings at other parishes nearby as well. I think that it is a personal decision. Hope that this helps. :slight_smile:

PS If it is a TLM mass then yes, just about everyone has some sort of head covering.

One thing I do notice (and like) about Good Friday is that many people attend a different church than usual. This is because they dash over during the work day (employers are supposed to allow this in the USA), and then go back to work. So they attend a church close to work rather than the usual parish close to their home.

Also, people tend to “come as they are” - lots of workmen in work clothing, people in scrubs, and so forth sitting next to business people in suits. For the rest of us - we see more people in jeans and sweatshirts ducking in fast. Our parish has Good Friday at noon to help with people getting off work. We are in a rural location, so lots of field workers in jeans and flannel shirts covered in dirt.