Do we need works for salvation?

I’m Catholic, but I am new to the faith so I’m still kind of confused and it’s frustrating me. I know the Church teaches that grace is free and we receive it by faith. But what does the church say about works after that? Do we need works? What if we don’t have works? What f we have works at first but no longer have works after? What role does works play in salvation. I’ve been looking on Catholic sites but somehow it has made me more confused… what role does works play? What do you mean when you say works is a way of co-operating with grace? I have been catechized, but I was still confused even after but never really mentioned it. What do you mean when you say faith working through love???

Regarding Faith and Works in St. Paul

Pope Benedict XVI

(Two audiences from the Year of St. Paul)

vatican.va/holy_father/benedict_xvi/audiences/2008/documents/hf_ben-xvi_aud_20081119_en.html

vatican.va/holy_father/benedict_xvi/audiences/2008/documents/hf_ben-xvi_aud_20081126_en.html (begins a bit down)

and one from a few years earlier: vatican.va/holy_father/benedict_xvi/audiences/2006/documents/hf_ben-xvi_aud_20061108_en.html

Don’t worry too much about it. When you pray, go to Mass, read the Bible, are helpful to others whenever possible, you’ve done good works. You don’t have to be a Mother Teresa to do good works. :slight_smile:

Basically, good works is a phrase that means living the Christian life.