Does Oldest=Truth

So I’ve heard that Hinduism is the oldest religion known to man. If that’s true, then does that mean all other beliefs are false?

This was a question that was asked almost inadvertently by someone. I had no answer. Can you guys give me an answer

Having just come back from India and having a close co-worker who is from there, this topic caught my eye. I studied Eastern philosophy in college and had my dalliance with Eastern religious beliefs as a young man, before coming back to The Church.

A few things:

• Hinduism is not the world’s oldest religion, by a long shot. Hinduism only goes back to about 1500 BC. Before that, there was organized ancestor worship, spirit worship, pagan gods, etc.
  • Hinduism is not really an organized religion, like the Church is. They have no equivalent to a Pope or a Holy See.
  • Hinduism is an inclusive faith. Being Hindu is as much ethnic as religious. You can be Hindu and some other faith at the same time as far as the Hindus are concerned. I saw this going to Mass in India. Catholics there still very much have the trappings of being Hindu. BTW, I attended Mass at St., Thomas Basilica in Chennai (formerly Madras), where the apostle “Doubting Thomas” is supposedly buried. He was sent by the Apostles to India to evangelize. He probably got the bad assignment as punishment for that “doubting” episode! LOL

What is more, I think the whole point of Jesus’ life was that what had gone before was not repudiated, but built upon. The old did not have primacy over the new. The Muslims take the opposite view to the implication of your question. Allah sent Moses to carry his message, but the people did not follow. Then he sent Jesus, but the people still did not follow. Finally, he sent Mohammed and gave him the charge to get them to follow no matter what. I will stick with Jesus.