Dominican Friars

The Franciscans have many “independent” ‘Communities. In other words, they don’t just have the Order of the Friars Minor (The original one started by Saint Fancis). They have the Franciscan Friars of the Renewal, Franciscan Brothers Minor, Franciscan Brothers of Peace, etc. However, I have never seen male Dominican Communities that do. They have the western province, eastern province, southern province, all of them being-Presumably-the same line. Is it not allowed for people to make “independent”’ Dominican Communities? I am interested in the Dominicans, but my self-esteem issues make me worry that I will not get my GED, therefore making me ineligible to enter them, unlike Franciscans. If I can’t get it, am I not allowed to make an independent Community that calls itself Dominican because of some Dominican rule?

If they are in communion with the Church, I wouldn't see why not though I can't say I'm an expert.

[quote="ATeutonicKnight, post:1, topic:276029"]
The Franciscans have many "independent" 'Communities. In other words, they don't just have the Order of the Friars Minor (The original one started by Saint Fancis). They have the Franciscan Friars of the Renewal, Franciscan Brothers Minor, Franciscan Brothers of Peace, etc. However, I have never seen male Dominican Communities that do. They have the western province, eastern province, southern province, all of them being-Presumably-the same line. Is it not allowed for people to make "independent"' Dominican Communities? I am interested in the Dominicans, but my self-esteem issues make me worry that I will not get my GED, therefore making me ineligible to enter them, unlike Franciscans. If I can't get it, am I not allowed to make an independent Community that calls itself Dominican because of some Dominican rule?

[/quote]