Douay-Rheims Bible vs N.A.B. as Bible for Family

:tiphat:Oh How I Wish this Thread were Resurrected!

I am a Newbie - always moved by the Spirit since a wee lass but never formally learn-ed - and now am getting…;…scholarly. Have always shied away from reading the Bible in it’s entirety (save every day necessity / as it comes through my life and to follow up with integrity by reading mostly the NKJV) for fear of not knowing how to read Hebrew, Greek, and Latin, and being ‘misled’…

BUT - becoming responsible for leading my 5 children in Word now! And now am trying to choose which version…am leaning toward DR - Chancellor. United States Conference of Catholic Bishops “approves” the NABRE translation, and I want to know what I’m getting into as I forward truth in which version…I feel the Spirit leading me to BEEFEN UP “mere spirituality through pure honesty and driven integrity” (the religion of my own child rearing) with The Word (I became Catholic when I met my husband and desire to follow this for Our Children).

Any insight, advice, etc. greatly appreciated!!!

Split to allow new discussion.

The NAB and NAB/RE are functional (if somewhat weak) translations, but I believe that there are far better out there. Oh, the NAB and NAB/RE have their fierce defenders, and I expect a few to show up. That being said, the Knox Translation is absolutely fine. The Revised Standard Version - Second Catholic Edition is also fine. Along with the Knox my personal favorite is one of the various Confraternity bibles, which were produced from 1941-1969. They may be found in used book stores, or on eBay very reasonably. Their book introductions and footnotes are far superior to those in the NAB/RE. The Douay-Rheims is rock solid, but more work to read for many. The Confraternity updated the D-R to 20th century American English.

In my view, the NAB/RE will not lead a faithful Catholic away from the Church - but neither will it lead someone else into the Church.

Let the fun begin!