Douay-Rheims Bible

Hello y'all,

I was looking for a new traditional Bible to use and to go along with my RSV-CE and my NAB.

Which publishing of the Douay-Rheims Bible should I use?
-Baronius Press
-St. Benedict Press
-Other

I have no experience with either of those publishers. I do have an old John Murphy Company D-R that suits me just fine.

Another bible to consider: the Confraternity Bible (1941-1969). Early versions use the D-R OT combined with the 20th century English of the Confraternity New Testament translation. The Confraternity, while updating the NT language, still retains some of the holiness of theological language (thees and thous), whereas many newer bible translations sound like your co-workers talking at lunchtime. As the years progressed, the OT in the Confraternity translation was slowly introduced (but not completed under a single cover). I like the older versions, as even the language reflects which testament you are in. They can be found inexpensively on eBay, in thrift stores and in used book stores. IMO, they are far superior to the NAB or NAB/RE.

[quote="landon13, post:1, topic:330270"]
Hello y'all,

I was looking for a new traditional Bible to use and to go along with my RSV-CE and my NAB.

Which publishing of the Douay-Rheims Bible should I use?
-Baronius Press
-St. Benedict Press
-Other

[/quote]

I have the large size soft cover 2 volume D-R with Haydock commentary published by Catholic Treasures.
I also have a hard cover one volume Challoner edition with almost no notes published by Tan books.
I prefer the edition with the Haydock commentary.

My Baronius pocket Douay-Rheims Bible arrived yesterday and I'm very happy with it. Gotta love those second century manuscripts. Of course, an old flatus like me will not want to try it without reading glasses; the print is pretty small in the pocket edition. But very readable!