Drinking and Parental Consent

Hello.
I’m 20 and I am currently studying abroad for a semester. While I can’t legally drink in the U.S., I can here. My parents are paying for my college. I KNOW that they would not like it if I were to drink. However, would it be sinful for me to do so anyways, without their knowledge, since I am not living with them and not breaking any laws? (And I spend my own money on the stuff too). I’ve never even really had to lie to my parents about it, I just leave it out of every story that I tell.
Also–if it is sinful, is it mortally sinfull or “only” venially.

If you are seeking “collateral justification” for your actions… I’ll not be the one to help you.

But, here’s what I see from a legal standpoint:

If you are of the age of majority in the country that you are residing in presently, then it is legal for you to consume.

If you have moral qualms about it, and fear that your parents would ask you the question…and you would have to lie…then there is the question that only you can answer. Misleading them is the lie. If you are comfortable with that…

What say you?

Honor thy Mother and Father, as Jesus did. :slight_smile:

You will be glad you did, because one day it could be your child posting this here one day.

What would you do as a parent, if you knew that your child felt this way?

I bet it would break your heart.

I should also add that my parents dont even recieve the precious blood at mass solely because it contains alcohol.

Is it a mortal sin for me, when my mom asks, what do you drink when you go out to simply list everything that I drank that contained no alcohol. Also note that I have to talk to her immediately upon getting back from wherever I go, meaning that if I drink, I still need to be able to talk to her. I think she might suspect something.

Also–I’m talking as well about things like wine with meals, which would be rude to turn down from my host “family” here.