Drinking from the Same Cup-Health

Well I have a question.

I have not been to very many Catholic Churches but I have been to a few services. The ones I have seen, They have one Chalice (I understand that) and is used in the Rite. After the Rite, Everyone drinks from that same cup rather than using the wine from that Chalice and separating it in different tiny cups. Alot of Protestant denominations do separate it out because of health reasons of drinking after alot of people and the possible spread of diseases or some kinds of STDs. (Hep C for example can be spread by drinking after another)
I understand of drinking from the same ‘cup’ but is it necessary not to separate it out afterward the Rite to avoid the spread of diseases? I would still be all the same blessed wine.

Like I have said before, I have not been to many Catholic Churches so if they now often separate it out after the Rite, I have no knowledge. Was wondering about this.

If some parishes do separate it, they do so illicitly. The Cup is meant to be shared. Once consecrated the Precious Blood is never to be poured from the chalice to another container, the danger of spillage is too great.

There have been no confirmed infections from sharing the Chalice, though I’m aware of at least one case where someone with meningitis received Communion at a funeral and those who shared the chalice with her were advised to be checked and receive preventative medication.

In my church,they Consecrated three chalices along with the main chalice the priest use ,durning Consecration,than the priest gives Holy Eucharists Minister,their chalices,and they wipe the chalice,after each person,that comes too receive, the Blood of Christ… Hope you understand what I mean. :blessyou:

In an Eastern Catholic Church in Romania, the priest dips the precious Bread in the consecrated Wine and places it on the tongue of the communicant.

TheSeeker,