Eastern orthodoxy and birth control

What is the eastern orthodox position on birth control ?

I’m no expert, but I attending a carnival at a Greek parish and the priest gave us a very nice tour of his church. During the question session, someone asked about the orthodox view of birth control. The preist responded that it was officially the teaching of the church that birth control was sinful, but nearly all American Orthodox women use it anyway. I didn’t really like the way he said that. It was clear from his attitude that he thought the teaching was old-fashioned and silly. (Like some blue law that was technically still on the books but no one had taken the initiative to have it removed.)

No idea, though I have problems with the pill and believe orthodox should not take it.

According to my coworker, who just happens to be on facebook, and who is a Coptic Orthodox Christian, the general teaching of the Orthodox Church is that it is sinful to use birth control except in very rare occasions that need to be discussed with a priest. So, in other words, if you are Orthodox and want permission to use birth control, I know the preist you should talk to!

[quote="Allegra, post:4, topic:311975"]
According to my coworker, who just happens to be on facebook, and who is a Coptic Orthodox Christian, the general teaching of the Orthodox Church is that it is sinful to use birth control except in very rare occasions that need to be discussed with a priest. So, in other words, if you are Orthodox and want permission to use birth control, I know the preist you should talk to!

[/quote]

I'm not Orthodox, but I'm sure this is what they would say. An Orthodox Christian would probably be advised to avoid hypotheticals and just consult his or her pastor.