'Eat' and run?

Today I felt compelled to attend a Catholic Mass, and I was amazed / perplexed at the amount of people who left immediately after receiving the Eucharist. Is this a common occurance? Does leaving before benediction count towards your obligation?
Despite the mass exodus (pardon the pun); it was a lovely service and I look forward to my next visit.

Peace and love to you all

I think it is Professor Scott Hahn who termed it the “Judas shuffle”. Unfortunately, some people make a regular practice of this.

Attendance at Mass includes being there when Mass begins and staying until the final blessing. To arrive late or leave early, unless for a grave reason, is disrespectful to God.

How to Get the Most Out of Mass is a set of CDs by Scott Hahn that I would recommend you get hold of. You can order it here saintjoe.com/p/prod_desc.pl?id=137

I am studying the Mass and it’s biblical origins as part of my Lenten Journey this year.

Having been a Catholic all my life (except for a few years in my teens & early 20s) I am amazed at what I am finding out. Why haven’t we been taught all this?

This is wonderful - now the why we haven’t been taught this could very well be a number of reasons from total ignorance on the part of the Catechists themselves to, there is a lot to know!

To answer your question nun…, in my Parish at least there are a few, very few, who leave right after Communion and most of those barely have enough time to be there due to committments with an ill family member :slight_smile:

Brenda

Eileen and Brenda,

Thank you both for your thoughtful replies.

I had hoped it was due to other commitments, but the amount of people who milled out of there just seemed too extraodinary to all be due to commitments.

Thank you Eileen for your recommendation. I am a rather confused new Lutheran / Catholic-sorta-wannabe; and this may help me in my rather long journey to date.