Eat My Flesh, drink My Blood - video

excatholicsforchrist.com/index.php?PageURL=media.htm

Under the Eat My Flesh, drink My Blood link, is a short little video which brings to light some Bible passages which are compared with John 6 as a means of Interpretation which I’ve not heard before.

I wonder if anyone here can shed some light on what some truly Catholic responses to this would be. I can always use some sharpening of Apologetics knowledge to evangelize Non-Catholics.

I’m not an expert in apologetics. Although I wish to be some day. But I might be able to give some advise here. First of all, Catholics don’t take everything in the bible literally. We interpret the Bible in such a way that we take what the author is trying to say. In this passage the author, John, was not using a figure of speech. His intent was to tell us what Jesus said. And Jesus was being literal. There is nothing in the Bible that would tell us otherwise. One thing to point out is that after the disciples heard this from Jesus they got up and walked away. They had a hard time with this message from Jesus. So much that they walked away. If He was speaking figuratively then why would it be so hard for the disciples to hear.

There are probably many more passages that explain why we take this literally but I don’t have any off the top of my head.

SinglemomMonica,