Eden as Parallel Dimension

Hi, so my favorite idea to reconcile evolutionary history with the fall of man is that Eden was a parallel dimension, and when we were expelled from Eden, we ended up in a slightly different place with things like death, mosquitos, etc. Also maybe the history here is different, and in this universe our bodies have an evolutionary history that traces back to apes.

Anyway, would believing this theory be heretical or schismatical or something like that? TIA
Neil

3 Likes

I doubt it-as it’s just speculation anyway. But for an alternative view I’m enjoying, to my own surprise, many aspects of the book, “The Science of God” by Gerald L. Schroeder while admitting to being almost a complete ignoramus about much of this topic. But there’s much in the way of sound science behind it in it IMO, and some strikingly revelatory info if you give it a chance. I’m actually studying it with a couple of people with science backgrounds in biology and physics. We’ll see where it leads anyway.

1 Like

Whether or not it’s orthodox or heterodox, it is not heresy if you aren’t deliberately opposed to church teaching, and it’s not schismatic if you aren’t setting up your own church to teach it.

As for orthodoxy, I don’t think the question is settled on “what” exactly Eden was. Your solution is creative, but I prefer the simpler approach: the natural environment didn’t change, but human beings — our first parents — and their relationship (or vulnerability) to it did.

4 Likes

I have a few excellent videos by Dr. William Lane Craig and Michael Jones that I have watched on Eden and the historicity of Adam and Eve that I think you may find very useful. They are largely in conformity with Catholic teaching and Catholic’s would do well to interact with the material in them. Also - Pope St. John Paul II himself accepted evolutionary theory so long as the presentation of the theory does not preclude God existing.
Here are the videos -