Eitology and the story of Creation?

I am studying with Mater Dei institute Ireland, and the other day I was at the second lecture on the creation account of Genesis. The Doctor in Religious studies said that the story is an Eitology, so that it is ‘‘Kind of makey uppy’’ she said that the inspired writers told it in a ‘‘mythical’’ way to help with their understanding of how creation began. Is this inconsistent with the Catholic faith? and if so, how do we use our faith to demonstrate that it is so?

Thank you for all your goodness and replies

Pax Christi
Stephen <3

If what the good doctor meant by “kind of makey uppy” or “mythical” was that the language used in Genesis’ account of creation and the fall of mankind is “symbolic” or “figurative,” then I don’t see a conflict with Catholic teaching on the subject. The Catechism of the Catholic Church (CCC) describes the language used in those Biblical accounts as “symbolic” or “figurative.” (CCC 337, 362, 390, 396)

Todd your wrong on 337 because I sent an e-mail to Catholic apologist John Salza about that a long time ago and the following is what he had to say.

''First, it is not a dogmatic statement on the ex nihilo creation.

Second, the word “symbolically” modifies the words “work” and “rest” which
is why they both have quotations around them. “Symbolically” is not
describing the six-day creation. God symbolically “worked” and “rested,”
because God doesn’t literally labor or tire. The six-day creation is
literal, while God’s “working” and “resting” are not.

Third, the Fathers were unanimous in their interpretation of six literal
days, and the Church dogmatically declares that we are to follow the Fathers
when they are unanimous, unless their interpretation is untenable or
necessity requires otherwise, which it does not.’’

This topic is discussed at length in the article on “Hexaemeron” in the 1914 Catholic Encyclopedia.