Engagement and marriage preparation question!

Hiya, I hope this is the right place to ask this: What do the prospective couple do in marriage preparation? I know some dioceses require NFP courses, and there’s some spiritual direction involved, but other than that I have no idea what typically goes on. Can it be done long distance?

Here’s my situation. It will be three years this spring since my GF and I started “dating”. From the very beginning we both were open to marriage and about a year into the relationship we realized two things: one, that we genuinely loved each other and two, that we shouldn’t get married until we were both out of college. I promised her that if we we’re still going strong when she graduated, I’d propose to her.

Here’s where it gets complicated. I’m a MA student at in Iowa, and while she is set to graduate this May from UW-Milwaukee (that’s 420 miles away if you’re curious, a six hour drive, and $1-3 in tolls through that poor excuse of a state, Illinois;)), we don’t know how to go about actually getting married in a long-distance relationship. She will be going on to get her MA so she can actually do something with her degree, and I have another year left in my MA…so I can actually do something with my degree.

Disregarding everything else, what can we do with regards to marriage preparation? Three years is a long time to be “courting,” and we really want to fulfill our vocation. We both figure that if our relationship survives like it has, studies abroad in China included, we definitely have found the right spouse to help us get to heaven. What in the world can/should we do?

First, decide where you will be married-- in one of the cities you currently reside in or “back home” in a childhood parish. If you will be married where one of you now resides you need to register and become formal members of a parish. If it is “back home” you will need to ask if your parent’s membership will suffice or if you will need to register, etc.