Enter Seminary straight after school or wait a year?

I'm seriously discerning my vocation to the priesthood now and I'm finishing high school at the end of this year. Should after I have applied with the diocese and a gap year is not required, do you think it would be a good idea to wait a year after I've finished high school to discern my vocation more. I've been discerning for about two years now and I really want to become a priest.

God Bless

None here can say… Be guided by your vocation advisor, who will see things in and about you that you might not see, and most importantly by the prompting of the Holy Spirit. He will guide you.

Peace
James

Depends on how much you’ve discerned already. Two things come to mind, though. 1. A gap year also allows you time to get focused on something else, and maybe sidetracked from your true vocation. 2. Discernment doesn’t stop when you go into the seminary. It is an ongoing thing until you are actually ordained.

My nephew went to seminary right from high school. He stayed three years, then left to enter Notre Dame for a year. He said he was having conflicting thoughts on marriage vs. priesthood. That year at Notre Dame cleared his doubts, and he returned to the seminary. He has been a missionary priest for 35 years now, confident in his vocation. I think you should enter the seminary now, as you feel the desire. Later, if you have doubts, take the time needed to be sure what God intends for you. Good luck and God bless.

Actually it continues even after ordination.

Discernment never ends.

I would consult the vocations director and the seminary discernment team.

Each person is different and they assist much better than we can here.

Hi,