Eragon for 11yo - anything to worry about?

My 11yo son is really enjoying the Eragon series.

I've always tried to read at least some of what my kids are reading to make sure it is appropriate for them, but these books are very long and I'm not really getting into them.

For those who have read them, can you save me the time and trouble and let me know if you think there is anything I need to worry about in them? I am wondering mostly about sexual themes, too graphic violence/gore/horror (he likes battle scenes!) and blatant anti-God/religion themes.

I don't have trouble with fantasy/adventure per se and we all have read (and watched) and loved Tolkien, Lewis and Rowling (sorry if it offends anyone to put those three together!) to give you an idea of where I'm coming from.

Thanks!

As a teacher, I say Eragon is a good book for an 11 year old.:thumbsup:

Nothing problematic for an eleven year old. An adult, however, might get the feeling that the writing is mediocre and the plot is derivative, but there's nothing morally wrong with mediocre writing.

An adult, however, might get the feeling that the writing is mediocre and the plot is derivative, but there’s nothing morally wrong with mediocre writing.

Yeah, that’s why I didn’t want to read it all myself :slight_smile:

Thanks to you both!

Anyone else have any thoughts about these books? I’d also like to hear from those of you who disagree that an 11yo should be reading them and why.

I have read all 4 books. Eragon (I think) was perfectly fine for kids. The next book, Eldest, spends a couple of pages where it seems the author inserts his arguments against God. I think these same little arguments are voiced again in the third and fourth books. They aren’t that good of arguments, but it might not be good for an 11 year old. You could probably find the passages in question with a google search of Eragon and Religion, and decide if you want him to continue reading the series.