Etiquette Among the Orthodox

Greetings All,

I’m writing because really don’t have any practical experience interacting with Orthodox Christians, and I need some help. I’m a youth minister, and in the processes of looking for a retreat center for a retreat I have coming up this Fall I have run across a very promising location. It’s run by the Greek Orthodox Metropolis of Boston.

I’m interested in finding out any of the do’s and don’ts, especially in regards to their chapel, which is beautiful and one of the distinct perks of the place in my mind. I have some limited experience with Eastern Catholics and I’ve picked up some of the etiquette along the way. For instance I learned that at the Ukrainian Catholic Church here in town, it is not customary to genuflect. Does this transfer over to Greek Orthodox?

Basically I want to be able to communicate to my teens how to be respectful the traditions of our Orthodox brothers and sisters, who at a true Church, while still also being mindful of the separated status between us. For instance I’m pretty sure that unless it’s an emergency that communion is a no go for us. However I know that Christ is also present when we go into their chapel. Adoration will be part of our retreat, and I’m pretty sure that this is not an Eastern tradition. Should we bring out own host? And if so, would it be proper to house it in their tabernacle for the duration of our stay? The people running the camp seem very Catholic friendly, I just want to make sure that we have good etiquette and are respectful of their traditions and ours.

Any insight into how to properly behave would be greatly appreciated, especially coming from any Eastern Catholics or Eastern Orthodox. Thanks!

I don’t know if perpetual reservation would be practiced in this particular chapel, since it is used neither by a parish community (to my knowledge) nor a monastery.