My friend got back from a mission trip about two years ago and was hospitalized for almost three months with awful pains. After numerous tests, she was diagnosed with Celiac disease. She told us that she is extremely allergic to Gluten, an agent found in wheat.
She cannot receive the Eucharist, because Cannon law dictates that a certain percentage of wheat must be present in it. They make special hosts with a decreased percentage of wheat in them, but even then, she can only have that about every 2 months. Most of the time, she cannot even receive the Precious Blood because of cross contamination.
If the Eucharist is the true Body, Blood, Soul, and Divinity of Christ our Lord, then why is this effecting her? I truly believe it Is His True Presence in the Eucharist, but this event shakes my faith.