Eucharist

Dumb question, but is transubstantiatin considered to be supernatural event or metaphysical event? What’s the difference?

Both. Supernatural in that it is Holy Spirit which does the wok and not any natural power. Metaphysical in that what is happening can be talked about in philosophical term dealing with fundamentals beyond the physical world.

But when I was at Mass today I found that the Gloria we used took me completely out of a metaphysical or supernatural sensitivity. I think it was Mass of the Redeemer by Dan Schutte. It made me long for the solemnity of the TLM and I am not even a traditionalist.

But the actual act of the bread turning into Jesus is supernatural?

Yes, I would say so because (without using fancy philosophical reasoning which I have no knowledge of) the mystery of transubstantiation occurs by God’s grace and goes beyond the scope of the natural world.

May God bless you abundantly and forever! :slight_smile:

I would say that the explanation of transubstantiation is metaphysical (philosophy of existence).

But part of the experience of the Eucharist is that of faith. Faith is required in order for one to receive the Eucharist, and faith is a supernatural gift from God.

However, I wish we had a different word than supernatural to describe faith. A word which does not get confused with things that are not real, or are just made up. Faith is a real spiritual state of a person. It is only supernatural since it crosses over the horizon of time and allows one to see with faith things that are otherwise unseen. To the materialist, this appears to be supernatural. Faith is within the nature of man.

Of course it’s supernatural – in the sense that such a thing would not happen under “normal” physical laws. It is beyond the “natural”. It occurs through the action of God’s supernatural intervention.