Evolution and the Catholic church

Hi. I have a question for my fellow Catholics in regards to how we should reconcile science, specifically evolution, with what the bible and the Catholic church says in regards to Adam and Eve. I am a geneticist currently working for one of the largest health systems in the world. I know that the church tells us it’s OK to accept evolution as the process in which god engineered us. As a scientist I of course don’t have a problem with this. My focus on genetics has given me a deeper understanding then most into the origin of our species and the processes that have shaped the biological development of human beings over time. The issue I’m having right now as it relates to my faith, is the concept of Adam and Eve and original sin as it is described in the bible an in Catholic doctrine. I know with absolute certainty that it is not possible for there have ever been only two human beings on this planet. The processes that govern life just make this an impossibility. The smallest bottleneck for humanity actually occurred about 100K years ago. At that time humans were reduced to around 15k in population. So if Adam and Eve never existed in the way it’s written in the bible, then how can the concept of original sin have happened? I guess I’m looking to understand how we can accept evolution and still accept many of the other core beliefs that are built on the biblical accounts of creation. Thanks in advance!

the church teaches that until definitive and/or empirical proof is found beyond nigh indubitable impossibles for a belief/theory: is alright to explore and hold any of 4+ prominent theories on the origin of life and “energy;” as long as God is the first cause, we have two ancestors, and only God creates and imbues souls.

God bless

Evolution is a banned topic. Adam and Eve are our first parents.

Peace,
Ed