Excommunicated?

I have a friend who is 15 who commited sacrilege by consuming the Eucharist while
knowing that he was in a state of mortal sin. He of course plans to go to confession. I have read that consuming the Eucharist while in mortal sin is a grave offence and makes you automaticly excommunicated and only the Vatican can remove the excommunication. Is this true? What about him being 15, not even being Confirmed yet?

Where did you read this? It is not true. He can go to Confession and receive absolution for this grave offense.

Oh man, what a relief. After reading the OP I was about to book a ticket to Rome! :slight_smile:

All he needs is a sincere confession.

I’m new to the faith myself and I was wondering is it ok for someone not confirmed to be receiving Communion? Is baptism all that is required? I understand those outside the Church can receive Holy Communion under grave or dire circumstances (ie sickness or impending death etc) but is it common practice for those not confirmed to receive Communion?

I’m guessing you’re referring to Canon 1367?

Can. 1367 A person who throws away the consecrated species or takes or retains them for a sacrilegious purpose incurs a latae sententiae excommunication reserved to the Apostolic See

Someone can correct me if I’m wrong, but the “sacrilegious purpose” here means desecration of the Eucharist. That would be how I read it based on the first half of the sentence (“A person who throws away the consecrated species…”).

Especially note the use of the words “take” or “retain”. We always talk about receiving communion at Mass. So your friend received communion in a state of mortal sin, but he did not take the Host in order to desecrate it.