Existence of God

What are the “Proofs for the existence of God”? I remember them called the Apologetics.

There are the 5 proofs for the Existence of God by St. Thomas Aquinas.en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Quinque_viae

Then, there are also 20 from other apologists, now.
peterkreeft.com/topics-more/20_arguments-gods-existence.htm

Apologetics is defending the faith.

When I studied theology in the 60s, I remember there being 10. I’m not sure if it was Aquinas or St. Augustine.

I remember them called unconvincing now that we have access to information about the natural world.

To those who don’t believe, they are called “unconvincing”, but to believers, they are not.

I don’t know if there may have been lesser “proofs” that are now less convicing now that we know more about the natural world. The intelligent design, “watchmaker” argument comes to mind as a possibility, but this was always a very juvenile attempt at a proof. The more serious proofs for God, the idea of God as the First Cause above all, are not in any way deminished by our increased knowledge of how the created world works.

This is a poor argument. It makes us sound like irrational fideists. The logical proofs are compelling because they really are logical.

We will have to disagree.
However, anytime someone links the ID movement with anything described as very juvenile I can not hide my pleasure. :slight_smile:

I should clarify that there may be variations on the intelligent design idea that are actually intelligent. I am refering only to the crudest version of it: that the complexity of living things or other natural phenomina implies a design and fabrication process closely analogous to human invention and craftmanship.