Explaining Mary

Hi

I need some help. I am new to Catholicism, I am attending mass and will go through the RCIA program starting in Sept. But my question now is one about Mary. My family is not religous at all a definally not Catholic! I am having trouble explaining why Catholics pray to Mary and her role in the Church.

Any ideas on a way to explain this to them?

Thanks!!!

We do not pray to Mary, as one prays to God…we honor Mary and we pray for her intercession on our behalf. Mary is everyone’s mother. She is the Queen of Heaven and Earth. She is the new Ark of the Covenant…one without the stain of sin or original sin, chosen to be the vessel in which The Word was made flesh within her…Jesus Christ. She is truly blessed, because God chose her long before she was born to be the mother of God…She plays a huge role within The Catholic Church…she was the perfect disciple…we should follow her example if we want to love Christ fully and if we desire to go to heaven…While on the Cross, Christ made it clear when he was talking to her and St. John, that she will be the mother for all mankind. There is no better way to get to Christ than to follow his mother’s example. Mary is the symbol of The Catholic Church.

Mary points the way to her Son, but Jesus Christ is the focus of our Faith. HE is the symbol of the Catholic Church.

Thank You!!!

Mary is the spiritual mother to all Christians, even your family members. This is very clear from Scripture. It is also very clear that Mary helps fight Satan for us, she is “the woman” that does battle with her Son against the serpent. God gave her this role not the Catholic Church. When they ask you why do we honor Mary just tell them because God honored her first…we are just doing what He did!