Explaining the Eucharist to Non-Catholics

I explained the Eucharist (particularly transubstantiation) and they thought it was very odd, and it struck me that I had never asked a question they asked. Since Jesus is obviously present in the Eucharist, are we actually eating his flesh and drinking his blood? (Essentially what they asked me) and I wanted to say yes, but having been raised Protestant and been subjected to Protestant doctrine for 16 years, I didn’t know what to say, so, I’m sorry if this is a weird question, but How do I explain the Eucharist (Real Presence) to Non-Catholics?

Thank you for your help!

Yes, that’s exactly it - Catholics do indeed eat the flesh and drink the blood of Christ (actually, his body, blood, soul and divinity), as he commanded. :slight_smile:

I’m not good at explaining Catholic apologetics to non-Catholics, but here’s a link to an essay by Scott Hahn about the institution of the Eucharist and where you can see it in scripture:

ewtn.com/faith/teachings/euchc2.htm

And here is a video by Bishop Barron about the Eucharist:

youtube.com/watch?v=bJjW3LXuHzo

Just wait until you try to explain Purgatory to them. :wink:

1 Corinthians chapter 13:23+

For I received from the Lord what I also delivered to you, that the Lord Jesus on the night when he was betrayed took bread,
and when he had given thanks, he broke it, and said, “This is my body which is for you. Do this in remembrance of me.”

In the same way also the cup, after supper, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood. Do this, as often as you drink it, in remembrance of me.” For as often as you eat this bread and drink the cup, you proclaim the Lord’s death until he comes.