fasting

what are examples of some things you guys eat when you are fasting on ash Wednesday?

I never really know if I am eating too much or not enough. and I am the type of person who gets hungry really easily. and I did faint once during a choir concert and I think it was from not eating enough that day, among other things. I wasn’t trying to fast, it just happened accidentally. but now I know, I have to be careful with things like that

this year is different though. I just started training with my new guide dog so I wil have to be walking around a lot, which, normally I am at school or at home so not doing anything too strenuous.

so can you give me some examples of what your big meal and smaller meals consist of?

Don’t overthink it too much. A big meal is a big meal. Small meals are small meals. I will frequently have a tuna salad sandwich and scrambled eggs and toast as the two small meals, pasta and salad as the larger meal.

For me?

Oatmeal and OJ in the morning.

cup of yogurt & a banana for lunch.

tomato soup and a grilled cheese sandwich for dinner.

Breakfast - yogurt & coffee.
Lunch - fresh fruit.
Dinner - tuna fish sandwich & tomato soup.

You may be exempt from fasting due to health. You should get an OK from your Dr. Also, carry a high protein snack with you just in case, but do see your Dr. Peace.

Some examples:

Breakfast: Homemade latte (milk with coffee), an apple and peanut butter
Lunch: Tuna sandwich and fruit, or an egg salad sandwich with a veggie (e.g., celery sticks)
Dinner: Bowl of soup, or a potato with cheese

I know I’m supposed to be hungry – that’s part of the fasting – but I usually bring a couple containers of milk (the type that don’t need to be refrigerated) and a protein bar with me to school in case I get light-headed while teaching my kiddos. And if I don’t use them, I can always keep them in my desk for a quick snack another day.

God bless you!