Feeling a tug to come back to the Church after a long absence

Hi everyone. I’ve been looking around this forum and you all seem really nice and warm so maybe you can help me?

See, I was born and raised a Catholic. I was very devout and was very involved in Church. I prayed the Rosary every day. I read the Bible several times and studied it intensely. I studied the CCC and the history of the Church. I was a lector, first grade CCD teacher, youth group participant and eventually leader, when I was confirmed I became an ROC teacher, I even considered a vocation as a Sister.

But a few years ago, I began to slowly lose my faith. I began really thinking about my political views and my social awareness. My own sense of right and wrong. There are simply a lot of things in the Catholic/Christian religion that I just don’t agree with.

Lately though…I’ve just felt this tug in my heart to go back. However it’s not the religion I’m missing, but the place itself. I miss the building…the stain glass windows, the inscense, candles. I miss the overwhelming sense of peace I feel when I walk in. I miss the organ music, and the hymns.

I told my mother this and she told me to go to a Mass. I told her that I would be going for all the wrong reasons if I went back. What should I do? Who’s right in this situation? I am completely confused so maybe some feedback from you guys could help?

Thank you so much.

Welcome Home! The Holy Spirit is calling you back to the Church. Your Mom is right, you should start going to Mass again and pray the rosary. See how you still feel about it in a month or so and take it from there! :slight_smile:

Dear LookingForFaith,

Welcome back! :slight_smile:

Heaven is a place, well worth seeking to go.

Praying for you with today’s Liturgy of the Hours, part of Psalm 41(42):

My tears are my food, by day and by night,
and everyone asks, “where is your God?.”
I remember how I went up to your glorious dwelling-place
and into the house of God: