Feeling Scrupulous About My Protestant Baptism

Hello all,
This is kind of embarrassing for me to be posting, but it feels even more embarrassing to talk to my priest (who has already mentioned my tendency to be overly scrupulous) about. Basically, I was baptized and raised as a Protestant. This last year I “converted” to Catholicism. I was so ready to receive the sacraments and everything, yet it wasn’t time for confirmation yet, so I talked to my priest and everyone and I got approval to receive my first Eucharist since I had already been “validly” baptized. Now at first before I asked for approval, they wanted to give me a conditional baptism, just to be sure that I had a valid baptism (as I was very young when I was baptized and didn’t remember everything about it). But since I asked, they allowed me, by profession of the faith, become a member of the church (which I was very thankful for, because I was more than ready for first reconciliation).
Now it kind of bothers me because I keep thinking “What if my original baptism actually wasn’t valid?”… My mom says that it was done “In the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit” in my old pastor’s pool… I feel like I’m being too anxious or scrupulous… And I asked about it in church and was told “It’s okay. Besides, it’s too late now anyway”… I feel pretty sure that I have been validly baptized, but that little chance freaks me out… Can anyone help to put my mind at ease or does anyone have any advice? Thank you!

Trust your mother’s memory - your baptism was valid. So you can stop worrying now. :slight_smile:

I had the same qualms years after I joined the Church - but I got over it.

Relax and celebrate the fact that you have found what you are truly looking for! :thumbsup:

Even in the unlikely event that you are wrong about you being validly baptized, God knows your sincerity and he will nonetheless give the grace you ought to have received.