I just got this from my husband and his Chief at work. He’s Navy. They are typically really good about taking care of us and informing us of law changes at our local bases. Anyway, I want to pass this onto you, especially the cellular phone info:
Subject: New California Laws effective 7/1/07
New California Laws effective 7/1/07
New Driving Fines for 2007
Carpool lane - 1st time $1068.50 starting7/1/07 (The $271 posted on
the highway is old). Don’t do it again because 2nd time is going to be
double. 3rd time triple, and 4th time license suspended.
Incorrect lane change - $380. Don’t cross the lane on solid lines or
Block intersection - $485
Driving on the shoulder - $450
Cell phone use in the construction zone. - Double fine as of
Cell phone use must be “hands free” while driving.
Passengers over 18 not in their seatbelts - both passengers and
drivers get tickets .
Speeders can only drive 3 miles above the limit.
DUI = JAIL (Stays on your driving record for 10 years!)
As of 07/01/07 cell phone use must be “hands free” while driving.
Ticket is $285. They will be looking for this like crazy - easy money
for police department.