Female Catholic doctors

This is officially my first post on these forums, so…hi everyone! :slight_smile: I was just reading a different thread about people signing their name with heaps of letters following (eg. PhD) and debating which doctors are REAL doctors! I find that whole topic quite humorous because I’m a medical student (soon to be ‘Dr’), and my fiance Stu (or Atreyu on these forums) is a physics PhD student, soon to be Dr. You can imagine the stirring we give each other about who is going to be the real doctor…but of course who cares really!

Anyway, the rules say that posts shouldn’t be long so I’ll get to the point. I’m in the process of becoming a Catholic (doing RCIA classes) and I’ll be graduating at the end of next year, and getting married a few weeks later. Being from Hobart, Tasmania, I don’t know many Catholic doctors, and the ones that I do know are all male. Now and again I have major stress sessions when I think about training to be a Paediatrician, being a good wife, and being a good mother who is around to raise her children. Is there anyone out there who can reassure me that the future I envision is possible?!! Any advice would be most helpful!

God bless

Natalie

St. Teresa of Avila, St. Catherine of Siena, and St. Therese of Lisieux the three female Catholic Doctors of the Church.

Unfortunately I don’t have much reassurance for you as I am wondering too! We are both working as hard as possible towards and MD with a subspecialty in neonatology and I want to get a D.C. as well.

The way we worked it out is by figuring we can take opposite classes, so one of us is at school and the other is caring for our kids.

Haha, not that kind of doctor :smiley: Those are doctors–as in great teachers of the faith.
%between%

Get acquainted with St. Gianna Beretta Molla. She was a wife, mother, and practicing medical doctor :thumbsup:
saintgianna.org/