Female ordination

I’m new to the faith and I’m having a hard time explaining to my son why females cannot be ordained. *I think I have him to a point of religious assent but I know he has a nagging feeling that it is somehow “sexist”. *So I’d like a way to contrast this notion with the special dignity women have been afforded throughout Church history.

Oddly enough, an atheist friend posted the following to my facebook. *He went to school with this young woman, and she seems like a smart cookie, though I disagree with her assessment and lack of assent. *She appears to be requesting dialogue so I thought this an appropriate place to gather charitable apologists to oblige her :slight_smile:

questionsfromaewe.blogspot.com/2010/10/holy-and-courageous-women.html

I’m glad to see you have found these forums, as you said, they are a great place to find friendly apologists. Surly there are many people who will offer better and more Biblical answers, I’m more of a logical/rational thinker.

So, in this reguard, I see a couple topics that if adressed could help him get comfortable with Church teaching:

1. Priesthood is ment to be the lowest servant career. They are not kings or royalty, but instead they are called to give their prayers, time, and energy to God in a more focused and perfectly humble way than others. Nothing remains truly their own. So, in some way, it is like the military not having women in front line combat, they are respecting them, not subdueing them. (I know it isn’t always that way, but priesthood perfectly lived is very humble indeed)