First Baby Step

Does God exist? Why should I believe there is a God? I’m a fallen-away Catholic who has recently read many books on an anti-Christian subject, evolution, and similar topics but I have many problems with evolution,too. I guess you could call me an agnostic right now. :(:confused:

I would encourage you to read books on the other side. Everywhere you hear the arguments against belief in God and secularism, evolution, etc. The place to start is not mastering all the sciences but, rather, Philosophy, that is, Thomistic Philosphy. Secularists and modern philosphers try to shoehorn all the answers to things in the physical sciences. That’s like trying to use Accounting (I’m an accountant) to disprove something in plumbing. Atheists and secularists have a worldview (an agenda) that drives their notions of things. I have much to learn myself, just getting back into Thomistic Philosophy, but also read the Greek Philosophers such as Socrates, Plato and Aristotle. Their philosophy ties in with Aquinas and is concerned with universals, First Causes and Final Causes which modern philosophers aren’t. They have never disproved Aquinas but merely asserted that his arguments are false, pushing them off the table. Read Aquinas’ 5 Proofs of the Existence of God, not in the Summa Theologica but, rather, in his Summa Contra Gentiles! This is the full version. You’ll have to rise to it because it uses pure reason and you’ll get into some mental gymnastics and will also have to become intimate with the terminology. That’s what I’m doing.

A few thoughts: