First post...a few questions

First I apologize if this thread is not in the right spot. I have a few questions that I need the answers to and I hope I can be led to them. For starters I’m protestant but have been studying up on catholicism for about two years now off and on. My background is typical of many protestants. Grew up on a protestant family, attended many different churches, heard the usual warnings about the catholic faith etc…I started this research into catholicism two years ago when I got frustrated with not being able to find a church I can grow spiritually with. I am frustrated on how churches in general are not standing up for God’s laws and how they are compromising their own faith to appease society. Anyway to keep this fairly short, I have done enough research to know that most if not all the protestant claims against the church are not true. My questions have to do with authority and what Christ meant when he spoke of the church.

1. If there was one church Christ established did this church have authority to decide what was God’s will even though I was taught we sometimes don’t know God’s will.

2. Did Christ mean church as a group of believers united in him when he said he would build his church on Peter or was it a physical structure? I heard both sides to this quesion and I know protestants believe in the invisible church etc…I heard protestant pasters say that yes they disagree on issues with other churches but that’s not a big deal. They say as long as you accept Christ that’s all that matters the rest is all theological debates and that God won’t hold it against us.

Anyway sorry again if I posted this in the wrong place but those questions have been bothering me. I do feel God is with me in this as I quest for answers and I have been praying for guidance. God bless!