Flowers on the altar are incorrect

I believe that It is slightly wrong to display flowers on the altar. Members of the congregation should not genuflect or make obeisance to a bunch of geraniums or even roses. Yet I believe this practice is now increasing. Any views on this topic? I’d like to hear from an expert on liturgy.

Matthewa:)

I’m not an expert on the liturgy by any means… But is it not a part of our faith that “all creation” glorifies the Lord? In some sense, albeit a little abstract, I imagine the flowers themselves are bowing and genuflecting before Christ present in the Eucharist:)

The flowers, in a less abstract sense, serve as OUR means of honoring Him, in addition to our bowing, genuflecting and worship. Even in a home altar, it is not uncommon to place flowers beside religious objects. That doesn’t mean we are honoring the flowers, but that we are using the flowers to give honor to that which deserves veneration.

Hope that helps:)

Depends upon what you mean by “on the altar.” Do you mean “in the sanctuary” or literally “on” the altar itself?

First of all, we do not genuflect to the altar. We bow to the altar. We only genuflect to the Blessed Sacrament, which is typically either behind the altar or somewhere in the sanctuary in the Tabernacle.

Floral decoration is certainly allowed around the altar and in the sanctuary. From the GIRM (305): Floral decorations should always be done with moderation and placed around the altar rather than on its mensa. GIRM 306 discussese what should be on the altar itself, and flowers are not among those items.

See here for details.

To Ike,

Thank you very much for your contribution.

In my parents’ church, which church of England, at a wedding, flowers were placed on the altar, obscuring the cross. My mother [the church warden] objected to this but backed down to avoid an argument.

yours

Matthewa1