For any Orthodox Converts: Why did you leave the Catholic Church for the Orthodox Church?

I am curious as to the reasons why my fellow Orthodox Christians converted from the Catholic Church to Orthodoxy. Please tell us your stories.

The fullness of truth. :thumbsup:

I agree with your statement.

I want to dig a little deeper though.

Can you expand on it a bit? Maybe give some specifics that you came across in your journey that lead you to believe the Orthodox has the fullness of truth?

I began to seriously study Church history. I learned about the Church praxis and teachings when the Church was one–before the great schism. I studied the role of the early papacy before the division. I studied the seven Ecumenical councils. My library swelled with books relating to lives of saints, Church history, and theology. The Divine Liturgy of Sts Chrysostom and Basil spoke to my heart. I have a particular love for everything monastic!

After years of prayer and discernment, my wife and I were received into Holy Orthodoxy. We are at great peace.

Have you seen the movie, “Ostrov”?
It is the essence of Holy Orthodoxy! :slight_smile:

You’re right your journey is near idential to mine!

Do you remember anything in all that study that really shocked you?

No I’ve never heard of that movie.

Plenty!

The Latins added the Filioque clause after almost 1000 years.

The post schism doctrines of purgatory, IC, and papal infallibility/supremacy were not a part of the undivided Church.

Pope Honorius was heretic.

I could go on and on…but you get my point. :slight_smile:

What do Orthodox believe about the Pope?

That would be for a different thread.

Well not necessarily. Why don’t you let him know what discoveries you found out when you did your research prior to converting to Orthodoxy?