For my call to missions

My brothers and sisters in Christ,

I hope this letter finds you very well! I have recently accepted the call to the missionary life. I began my training in Abbeville, LA at Family Missions Company on September 16, where I am studying and preparing my life for foreign missions. I have been so blessed by the people here and by our studies. They have been teaching us how to give talks, lead retreats, and evangelize with the poor, and many, many other things that will prepare me to lead people to Christ in my future mission post! I have been feeling the tug on my heart to follow this life for almost a year now. During my discernment I have found many reasons in my studies to reinforce my call to missions. In 1 Corinthians 9:16 it says “For if I preach the Gospel that gives me no ground for boasting. For necessity is laid upon me. Woe to me if I do not preach the Gospel.” Pope John Paul II in his encyclical letter Mission of the Redeemer speaks of how his contact with people that do not know Christ, has convicted him of the urgency of missionary activity! The time for missionary activity is upon us! Pope John Paul II then goes on to say “Those who are incorporated in the Catholic Church ought to sense their privilege and for that very reason their greater obligation of bearing witness to the faith and to the Christian life as a service to their brothers and sisters and as a fitting response to God. They should be ever mindful that ‘They owe their distinguished status not to their own merits but to Christ’s special grace; and if they fail to respond to this grace in thought, word and deed, not only will they not be saved, they will be judged more severely.’” This part of his encyclical particularly spoke to me. I grew up in a privileged family who taught me the Good News. That was a gift from God. Since God has given me such a wonderful gift, I feel the need to return this Grace He has given me. At this time, two thirds of the World does not know