For Protestants who have been around awhile...

Has this forum changed your views about Catholicism?
I recall this question being asked before but it seemed more Catholics joined in.
My experience:
I came into this thinking we were, to way oversimplify it, on the same team. After time, when you get to the heart of the matter, Catholicism does not teach that at all. I studied early Christian writings like I never have before and it has caused me to look at scriptures in a whole new light. I am not convinced that Catholicism teaches the faith as taught in the Bible. I know I have been way to…liberal for some people’s taste(Hi Fredricks) but I am starting to finally see you really cannot be on the fence about the Catholic and Protestant split. If Catholicism is from
God like Randy says, what are we from? And vice-versa of course. The sides are drawn, I do not see how I can escape it anymore. My family, if i am to stay married and not traumatize my kids, will stay Methodist but maybe I could attend another church at night I suppose. Fundamentalism seems so odd to me but the only choice I can honestly see outside of that is a lifeless liberal belief system which suggests it is all “myth with a meaning”. Protestant reactions sought please!:slight_smile:

Hi Brian,

I have enjoyed reading your posts BTW:D I have been on these forums for almost a year now. I thought the same way you did when I came here. As time went on I too have learned and studied more church history and the ECF. I am grateful to the catholics here for helping me learn more:thumbsup:

However, sadly I also believe there are so many issues that seperate us that I am disappointed. I really truly thought we had more in common.:frowning:

As it turns out I know more about catholocism now then all my catholic friends.:eek: Which is sad. Considering I was never raised catholic.